Bing tracking

Writing Opportunities for Students

We’ve been asked by the following publications to share their calls for submissions.  Please contact the publications directly if you have questions or submissions.

Note that the most recent additions are posted at the top.

  • Downtown Urban Arts Festival (DUAF) – closes October 21


The Downtown Urban Arts Festival (DUAF) is currently accepting play submissions that reflect urban life for its 17th annual season to be held during April and May of 2019 in downtown New York City.

DUAF will accept up to 16 theatrical works (plays, musicals, and solo works) with running times up to 70 minutes. Each work is performed only once during the festival. There will be a $1,000 award in the category of Best Play, Best Short and Audience. There is no submission of participation fee and each playwright will receive a $300-$500 monetary stipend during the festival to defray some of the production costs of presenting their work.


(1) Playwright’s bio with contact info- name, address, phone # and email

(2) Photo of playwright

(3) Synopsis of theatrical work

(4) Complete script of theatrical work

(5) Estimated running time of work

(6) Actor/director/crew bios, if available

(7) Description of stage set (if any) and production needs (i.e. sound and lighting)

The submission deadline is Sunday, October 21, 2018. Please submit to Tamar Lopez, Festival Coordinator at

Kind Regards,
Tamar Lopez
Festival Coordinator
DUAF: Downtown Urban Arts Festival
212-807-1337 ext 16

  • The Rush – closes November 15

Greetings from The Rush!

We are officially open for submissions in fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, and visual art & photography. We seek high-energy pieces that reflect the rush of life, and we are delighted in our ability to pay writers.

All submissions must be submitted through Submittable by November 15, 2018.

  • Manzano Mountain Review – closes October 1

    Manzano Mountain Review is an online literary journal based at UNM-Valencia. Our first issue was published in November 2017, and we plan to publish issues in May and November each year.

    We like writing that is honest, gritty, & vulnerable. Give us plot, but not too much. We want characters like us—complicated, flawed, human. Discomfort us. Provoke awe. Melt our brains.

    The theme for Issue No. 3 is “Elemental.”

    Also, we are showcasing New Mexican flash fiction.

    Aesthetically, the two editors, Justin Bendell and Kristian Macaron, value writing that crosses boundaries, treads unfamiliar ground, but also work that is rooted in place. Readers will find examples of this in our issues.  Justin likes terse, lyrical fiction with well-conceived plots. He is not afraid of genre writing (especially mysteries and westerns), though he thinks the best writing transcends genre.  Kristian likes writing that is exploratory, narrative, and unexpected. Words that teach and connect the reader/writer through image/metaphor/place.

    Submissions are open to all writers.

    We seek prose (< 3,000 words), flash fiction, poetry, visual art, and photography. We do not pay.

    The deadline for Issue No. 3 is October 1, 2018.

  • Sequestrum – closes October 15

We’re holding a contest through October 15th for new writers and poets (anyone yet to publish a book-length manuscript), and one of our aims is to showcase work by candidates in some of the top creative writing programs. Our library contains NEA & Guggenheim Fellows, Pulitzer Prize nominees, and other award-winning poets and novelists; we hope to put some of today’s emerging talents alongside them.

The contest is open to short fiction, nonfiction, and poetry, with winners for both prose and poetry. If there are any students in your graduate program who would be interested in sending their writing, I’d appreciate if you could pass this note along. Full details are here:

  • DISQUIET Literary Prize –  closes January 10, 2019

Disquiet is now accepting contest submissions for The Disquiet Literary Prize for writing in any genre. The top winners in each genre will be published:

– the fiction winner on,

– the nonfiction winner in,

– the poetry winner in The Common.

The grand prize winner will receive a full scholarship including tuition, lodging, and a $1,000 travel stipend to Lisbon in 2019. Runners-up and other outstanding entrants will receive financial aid.

Read the contest guidelines and enter here.

Note new dates: Contest now closes January 10, 2019.

Click Here to Submit to the Lit Prize

  • Split Lip Magazine – closes October 31

We here at Split Lip just wanted to let your students know about our first-ever poetry contest! Judged by the brilliant Paige Lewis, we’re accepting poems of up to 100 lines until October 1st. The winner receives $500 and publication! You can learn more on our website.
In case you missed it, Split Lip is now a paying market! Each month we publish four pieces: one short story, one flash fiction, one poem, and one memoir. We pay $50 per piece. What’s more, submissions are free every other month. We’d love to see more work from emerging writers.