Breck School student working with Professor David Murr places second at ISEF international science fair

Success often comes after repeated failure. That’s one of the key messages learned by a young scientist who worked with an Augsburg physics professor to place at the largest international science fair.

Taylor McCanna, a 2012 graduate of Breck School in Minneapolis, worked last summer with David Murr, an Augsburg physics professor, on a high altitude weather ballooning project. She was challenged to design, build, and test easily affordable equipment that ultimately could be built by other students and even the general public.

Read the full story on Inside Augsburg >>

Congratulations to off-campus summer researchers

The following students will be conducting research off campus this summer. Congratulations, Auggies!

  • Emma Winegar, Mathematics, Carleton College with the Summer Mathematics Program for Women Undergraduates
  • Ryan Mulcahy, Mathematics, NSF-REU at the Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Brianna Blake, Mathematics, NSF-REU at the Rochester Institute of Technology in External Graph Theory and Dynamical Systems
  • Gottlieb Uahengo, Physics, NSF-REU at Harvard University in Bioengineering, Scientific Computing, Robotics and Materials Science and Engineering
  • Nathaniel Ly, Physics, The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) with the Cell Systems Science Group
  • Trevor Rodriguez,Sotelo, Physics, NSF-REU at Oakland University in Mechanical Engineering
  • Fred Vedasto, Physics, Texas Christian University
  • Elly Bier, Physics, Argonne National Labs
  • Arlo Haubrich, Physics, Argonne National Labs
  • Kayla Johnson, Biology, Baylor University
  • Dan Bransford, Biology, NSF-REU at the University of Georgia in Microbiology
  • Alex Sorum, Biology, Loyola University Chicago
  • Brittany Kimball, Biology, Mayo Clinic in Biomedical Ethics
  • Will Matchett, Biology, Mayo Clinic in Neurobiology
  • Zach Stevens, Biology, University of Minnesota in the Lillehei Heart Institute
  • Kirubel Gezehegn [pictured] Chemistry, Johns Hopkins University

Physics faculty bring in over $1.2 million in new research grants

This has been a very good year for the Augsburg College Physics department when it came to securing research funding.

While Augsburg has had long history of obtaining research dollars from the National Science Foundation, an influx in stimulus money allowed the NSF to distribute more grants than in previous years.

As a result, professors Mark Engebretson, David Murr, and Ben Stottrup secured funding of $1,242,983 during 2009.

Read the full story on Inside Augsburg >>