3 Auggies named as 2015 SHPE-TC Scholars

The Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers Twin Cities Professional Chapter (SHPE-TC) is dedicated to providing scholarship funds and educational support systems for engineering and science students of Hispanic backgrounds. The SHPE-TC Academic Scholarship supports Hispanic students in the fields of engineering and science. The Chapter yearly awards multiple scholarships starting at $1,000.


Two Physics Faculty and One Student Present at Workshop

Physics faculty members David Murr and Mark Engebretson, along with Senior Physics major Fekire Beyene, attended and made presentations at the 2015 GEM Summer Workshop, organized by the National Science Foundation, June 14-19, in Snowmass, CO.

Augsburg’s Best Showing In Goldwater Competition

Juniors Fikre Beyene (Physics) and Lyle Nyberg (Biology and Chemistry) have been selected as Goldwater Scholars, and junior Andris Bibelnieks (Math, Physics & Computer Science), as Goldwater Honorable Mention.  The Goldwater Scholarship is the premier undergraduate award of its type for students pursuing research careers in STEM.  Read More >>

Two Auggies Win Prestigious Physics Scholarship

Two Augsburg College students have been named Rossing Physics Scholars for 2014-2015. Juan Tigre ’16 and Fik Beyene ’16 will receive $10,000 and $7,000 respectively. Dixie Shafer and Kirsten O’Brien of Augsburg’s URGO office shepherded Juan and Fik through the application process. Please congratulate all involved when you have the opportunity.

The Rossing Fund for Physics Education Endowment in the ELCA Foundation was established in 2005. Physics majors from across the 27 ELCA colleges and universities are eligible to apply. The fund was established by Thomas Rossing, a physicist who taught at St. Olaf and is professor emeritus of physics at Northern Illinois University in DeKalb, Illinois.