Engebretson and MACCS team receive $425,919 grant from National Science Foundation

The National Science Foundation has awarded a new three-year $425,919 research grant (NSF AGS-1264146) to Augsburg College’s Physics Department for continued operation of the Magnetometer Array for Cusp and Cleft Studies (MACCS), a longitudinally-extended array of 8 magnetometers located in Arctic Canada, and for space science research based on MACCS data.  Read More >>

Physics student Luis Hernandez a 2013 SHPE Finalist

Physics student Luis Hernandez is a finalist in the 2013 Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE) Technical Poster Competition!  He will present his research at the 2013 SHPE conference in late October.

2013 Off-Campus Research

Physics students spend the summer of 2013 doing research off campus at Johns Hopkins University, Colorado School of Mines (and NREL), University of Nebraska, NIST, University of Maryland, University of Michigan, and locally at Polar Semi-conductor.

Auggies Present at IPRIME

Promise-at-IprimeFour Auggies presented at the 2013 Microscopy Across the Disciplinesstudent poster session. This annual event is sponsored by IPRIME, a University of Minnesota partnership between industry and researchers in interfacial and materials engineering. Andris Bibelnieks and Dereck Dasrath presented on research done as part of the fall’s Physics 245 course (NSF DUE-0837182). Luis Hernandez and Promise Okeke presented work about ongoing studies of self-assembly in lipid membranes by the Augsburg Biophysics Lab (NSF DMR-1207544). Faculty advising this research include Joan Kunz, Ravi Tavakley, and Ben Stottrup.