Bing tracking

Program History

Scholastic Connections was started in 2001 in response to a prolonged and destructive hate mail campaign coming from an alumnus, aimed primarily at multiracial couples. The scholarship was created by Special Assistant to the President for Diversity and alumnus Syl Jones (’73), Scholastic Connections is unique in combining financial incentives and a networking community.

The first five scholars:

  • Camilo Power (’03)
  • Gianna Sorrell(’03)
  • Jennifer Boswell (’05)
  • Mathew Shannon (’04)
  • Xia Xiong (’05)

First alumni volunteers:

  • F. Clayton Tyler (‘72)
  • Eloisa Echavez (‘94, ‘98 MEL)
  • Jackie Cherryhomes (‘76)
  • Jones Murray Kelly Jr. (‘71)
  • Noya Woodrich (‘92, ’94 MSW)

the first five scholastic connection recipients and alumni mentors:

(L to R) President Frame, Xia Xiong, Robyne Robinson (KMSP-TV news anchor and luncheon host), Eloisa Echavez, Matthew Shannon, Jones Murry Kelly Jr., Syl Jones (’73), Camilo Power, Gianna Sorrell, Jackie Cherryhomes, Jennifer Boswell, F. Clayton Tyler, and Noya Woodrich.