Bing tracking

Celebrating student success

Share this:

Students participate in Zyzzogeton 2015

Zyzzogeton Research Festival is an opportunity for the Augsburg College community to hear about the exciting scholarship happening on campus. This year, more than 80 students presented their research and creative activity to the public in the annual spring poster session, which is sponsored by the Office of Undergraduate Research and Graduate Opportunity (URGO), the McNair Scholars program, and the Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) program.

15 off-campus STEM researchers

This summer, 15 Auggie researchers have been building their skills to support graduate school admissions and careers through research in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.

Posters on the Hill in D.C.

Each spring, the Council on Undergraduate Research hosts its annual undergraduate poster session, Posters on the Hill, in Washington, D.C. At the event, students meet members of Congress, funding agencies, and foundations, and they have the opportunity to advocate for undergraduate research programs. This year, Anika Clark ’14 was selected to present her research titled, “The Chimpanzee Social Network: Identifying the Potential Targets of Ebola Vaccination in Wild Chimpanzees.” Learn more about Clark’s research in Africa.

student-success-2Graduate Research Fellowship Honorable Mention

The National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program helps ensure the vitality and diversity of the scientific and engineering workforce of the United States. The program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees in science and engineering. This year, Alex Sorum ’13 was an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Honorable Mention.

Winchell Undergraduate Research

Aisha Mohamed ’16 was one of 104 people chosen to present at the 2015 Winchell Undergraduate Research Symposium, which prepares students to enter the fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics by providing a forum to showcase their scientific research, receive comments from professional scientists and peers, and network with professionals in the fields they aspire to enter.

Barry Goldwater Scholarship

Fikre Beyene ’16 and Lyle Nyberg ’16 were selected as 2015 Goldwater Scholars. More than 1,200 highly vetted students from across the U.S. applied for this honor, and 260 individuals were awarded a $7,500 per year scholarship for graduate school. Beyene studies physics and math at Augsburg while Nyberg studies biology and chemistry. In addition, Andris Bibelnieks ’16, a physics, math, and computer science student, was one of only six Minnesotans awarded an Honorable Mention in this year’s Goldwater Scholarship Competition.

Rossing Physics Scholars

Fikre Beyene ’16, Andris Bibelnieks ’16, and Cain Valtierrez ’16 have been named Rossing Physics Scholars for 2015-16. The Rossing Fund for Physics Education Endowment in the ELCA Foundation was established in 2005 for physics majors at the 27 ELCA colleges.

Kemper Scholars Program

Mitchell Ross ’18 and Rebecca Schroeder ’18 were named 2015 Kemper Scholars. Students in this prestigious program, which is funded by the James S. Kemper Foundation, receive academic scholarships and stipends to cover the costs of two summer internships in major nonprofit and for-profit organizations. Augsburg is one of only 16 U.S. liberal arts colleges with the Kemper Scholars Program distinction.

Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship

David Gersten ’16 and Amal Warsame ’16 are two of more than 1,000 undergraduate students from 332 colleges and universities across the U.S. selected to receive a prestigious Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship, sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, which will fund study or intern abroad during the summer 2015 academic term.

Eddie Phillips Scholarship for African-American Men

Education and theater double major Malick Ceesay ’17 is one of three students from Minnesota’s private colleges to receive the Eddie Phillips Scholarship for African-American Men, created by the Minnesota Private College Fund with funding from The Jay & Rose Phillips Family Foundation of Minnesota. The new scholarship program honors Eddie Phillips, a successful businessman and philanthropist in the Twin Cities. The goal of the scholarship program is to support the participants as they earn their baccalaureate degrees and develop their leadership skills.

Newman Civic Fellow

Awale Osman ’15 was named a Newman Civic Fellow for 2015. The Newman Civic Fellow Award is a Campus Compact distinction recognizing students who—through service, research, and advocacy—work to identify the root causes of social issues and effective mechanisms for creating lasting change.

Share this: