Bing tracking

Alumni Class Notes, Spring 2024

Share this:



John Luoma ’65 published “Saddlebag Preacher: The Story of the Rev. John Stough and the Evangelizing of the Ohio Frontier” in September 2023.



Peter Agre ’70, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health and winner of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2003, gave the inaugural Aston University Distinguished Lecture in Birmingham, England, on May 25, 2023.


After performing her one-woman show, “Sitting on the Flat Side of a Dime, Swinging My Legs,” in Siloam Springs, Arkansas, Betty (McCoy) Anderson ’71 was the subject of a lengthy profile in the Siloam Springs Herald Tribune, “Anderson imparts life lessons through stories,” on August 2, 2023.


Philip Lundin ’74 was one of six members of the U.S. Track & Field Coaches Association Coaches Hall of Fame Class of 2023. He was the men’s track and field head coach at the University of Minnesota from 1995 to 2008.


1983 and 1988

Luverne Seifert ’83 and Darcey Engen ’88, professor and chair of Augsburg’s Theater Arts Department, received the Minnesota Educational Theater Association’s Dedicated Lifetime Award in 2023 for their work as co-artistic directors of Sod House Theater.


Richard Magnuson ’85, chief financial officer at Allina Health, was named one of the top 25 CFOs of Minnesota for 2023 by Finance & Investing.


Nicholas Gangestad ’86 joined the Nucor Corporation board of directors in September 2023. He is senior vice president and chief financial officer of Rockwell Automation, Inc.


Vicki Ellingrod ’89 is dean of the College of Pharmacy at the University of Michigan.



Thomas Peart ’90 is the author of “A Vagabond Life: Stories from a Minnesota Hockey Coach,” published by Friesen Press in July 2023.


William Koschak ’91 was named the new CFO for SynerFuse in August 2023. He also has joined the board of directors for Second Harvest Food Bank of Orange County, California.


Minnesota Lawyer named Tammera (Ericson) Diehm ’93 one of the 2023 Top Women in Law.


Derrin Lamker ’97, head coach and former record-breaking quarterback for Augsburg’s football team, and a number of student-athletes, including quarterback Cade Sheehan ’24, were featured in the August 19, 2023, Star Tribune story, “Augsburg football is the new MIAC contender in town.”

Eric Rolland ’97, coach of Augsburg’s men’s and women’s golf, competed in the 2023 3M Open golf tournament. He earned a spot in the tournament after achieving Minnesota PGA Rolex Player of the Year honors in 2022.


2000, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2021, 2022

A writing group largely made up of alumni from Augsburg’s Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing program recently published its second book, “What’s in the Body Bag? A Collection of Dark Fiction by the Dead Birds Writing Group.” Authors include Trena Bolden Fields ’00, ’15 MFA; Judy Niemi Johnson ’05 MAL, ’17 MFA; David Nash ’06; Amanda Symes ’09, ’15 MFA; Jayne Carlson ’16 MFA; Jon Dahl ’16 MFA; Andrew Marks ’21; and Michelle Linder ’22 MFA.


Jason Baumgartner ’03 is the campus chaplain at Minnesota State University Moorhead.

Sheila Hoehn ’03 MAN was named dean of the Central Lakes College campuses in Staples, Minnesota, in June 2023.


Mary (New) Taris ’04 opened Strive Bookstore in the Young Quinlan building in downtown Minneapolis. She owns a smaller version of the store, which includes many books from underrepresented authors, in the Sistah Co-op, located in the IDS Center in downtown Minneapolis.


Minnesota Governor Tim Walz appointed Brent Kelsey ’06 MBA to the Rural Finance Authority, the state’s main agricultural lending arm. Kelsey is a farmer and a principal credit officer at Compeer Financial.


Erik Hinderlie ’07 graduated from the University of Massachusetts Boston School for the Environment with a Master of Science in urban planning and community development in 2023. He received the Urban Planning and Community Development Graduate Program Director’s Award for Public Service.


Cyrus Batheja ’08, ’10 MBA, a member of Augsburg’s Board of Regents, is the national vice president of infusion care services at Optum.

Greg May ’08, most recently head coach of Augsburg’s men’s hockey team, accepted the position of associate head coach of the University of Minnesota women’s hockey team in July 2023.



Ashley Booker ’11 MAE was named CEO of YWCA St. Paul in 2023.


Ashley Aretz ’12, ’19 MSPAS has joined Essentia Health-St. Mary’s Medical Center in Duluth, Minnesota, where she specializes in hospitalist services. Aretz is a certified physician assistant.


Gottleib Uahengo ’13 graduated with his PhD in engineering from the University of Southern California in May 2023.


Parker Hines ’15 is an assistant coach for the Texas Legends, a professional basketball team.


Gabriella (Hooper) Rooker ’16 finished as the fourth American woman and 11th woman overall in the Chicago Marathon on October 8, 2023.


Colin Mustful ’19 MFA is the author of “Reclaiming Mni Sota: An Alternate History of the U.S.–Dakota War of 1862,” which was published by History Through Fiction in October 2023. Mustful is the founder and editor of History Through Fiction. He and his press have created the Reclaiming Mni Sota Indigenous Writers Grant, a literary diversity initiative to raise $10,000 for one Indigenous writer from Minnesota.



In September 2023, Gavin Holland ’22 re-signed with the Huntsville Havoc, a professional ice hockey team in Huntsville, Alabama, for the 2023–24 season.


Rachel Allen ’23 MAT teaches 10th- and 11th-grade American history and world history at Pine River-Backus School in Pine River, Minnesota.

Hope Manu Kannare ’23 was featured in the October 24, 2023, Star Tribune story, “Six recent Minnesota college grads tell us how adulting is going.”

Brandon Ratzloff ’23 was named an assistant coach with the Rochester Grizzlies junior ice hockey team in 2023.

Share this: