Alpha Kappa Delta

Anthropon Katamanthanein Diakonesein

“To Investigate Humanity for the Purpose of Service”

The Sociology Department of Augsburg College hosts the Lambda Chapter of Minnesota of Alpha Kappa Delta (AKD), the International Sociology Honor Society. AKD is an international society of scholars dedicated to the ideal of Anthropon Katamanthanein Diakonesein or “To investigate humanity for the purpose of service.” AKD is intended to promote an interest in the study of sociology, research of social problems, and such other social and intellectual activities as will lead to improvement in the human condition.
Eligibility for membership in this honor society is based on the following requirements or their equivalent:

  • Must be an officially declared sociology major or demonstrate a serious interest in sociology within an official program of Augsburg College.
  • Must be at least a junior (third year) by standards of Augsburg College.
  • Must have accumulated the equivalent of an overall grade point average of 3.0.
  • Must have maintained the equivalent of a 3.5 grade point average in sociology courses taken at Augsburg College prior to initiation.
  • Must have completed at least four regular courses in sociology prior to initiation (exclusive of courses graded P/N).

All who meet these approved academic criteria are cordially and enthusiastically encouraged to join this academic honor society as a Life Member. If you are interested, please contact your sociology advisor.

AKD Class of 2013:

  • Ingrid Bergland
  • Angela Bonfiglio
  • Monica J. Brondos
  • Steven Campbell
  • Annmarie Caporale
  • Rebecca Dickinson
  • Arianna Genis
  • Amanda Rowan
  • Rachel Svanoe

AKD Class of 2012:

  • Brad Baus
  • Laura Essenburg
  • Anna Fuller
  • Eli Grobel
  • Scott Hemann
  • Katie Lawson
  • Emily Nelson
  • John Perpich
  • Megan Steffl

AKD Class of 2011:

  • Makenzie Moe
  • Jessica Pfaffendorf
  • Kaaren Warnes
  • Brieanna Watters

AKD Class of 2010:

  • Amy Ciresi
  • Courtnie Higgins
  • Erin Johnson
  • Roxanne Johnson
  • Jonathan Peterson
  • Zachary Sommer
  • Leann Vice-Reshel

AKD Class of 2009:

  • Matt Burdick
  • Rose Fricke
  • Robert Goodman
  • Caitlin Hozeny
  • Jenna Mead
  • Caris Warnock

AKD Class of 2008:

  • Ryan Bonner
  • Jackie Keller
  • Daniel Manley
  • Edward J. Matchett
  • Daniel Ryan

AKD Class of 2007:

  • Chris Adams
  • Anna Gotschall
  • Donovan Lessard
  • Marissa Lindback
  • Maria Mitchell
  • Sarah Pesola
  • Maria Belen Power
  • Megan Schiller
  • Nicole Stanich
  • Stuart Wylie

AKD Class of 2006:

  • Lisa Benjamin
  • Allison E. Browne
  • Krista Dahlke
  • Melissa M. Gaulke
  • Mariah Grosz
  • Desmond R. Jenson
  • Joseph M. Kaarbo
  • Matthew Michelson
  • Britt E. Pennington

AKD Class of 2005:

  • Amy Barnhorst
  • Lori Cain
  • Riley Conway
  • Allison Cornell
  • Jonathan Crawford
  • Emily Dexter
  • Ryan Parsons
  • Francis Rojas
  • Katie Schurrer

AKD Class of 2004:

  • Janna Caywood
  • Jennifer Esala
  • Tracey Lange
  • Melissa Marano
  • Jenny Nacey
  • Amee Nefzger
  • Sarah Prozinski
  • Alana Testa
  • Kevin Wells

AKD Class of 2003:

  • Nathan Erickson
  • Kirsten Gulbro
  • Karly Krieg
  • Katie Nielsen
  • Zac Schnedler

AKD Class of 2002:

  • Brandon Hofstedt
  • Kendra Roberg

AKD Class of 2001:

  • Jennifer Brogger
  • Erika Bryan
  • Becki Frestedt
  • Jeff Olson
  • Laura Waldon

AKD Class of 2000:

  • Melissa Bleichner
  • LauraCampbell Livesay
  • Amy Westlund