News and Events

John Mitchell Prize Accepting Entries

The John R. Mitchell Academy of American Poets Prize is accepting entries until March 14. The competition, endowed by Jean Mitchell in honor of John Mitchell, former English Department faculty member and poet, is for the best group of three poems by an Augsburg undergraduate student. The award includes a $100 prize. For more information, visit the English Department’s Prizes and Scholarships webpage.

Winners of Engman Prize Announced

The English Department has announced the winners of the 2013-14 Engman Prize, which honors undergraduate writing in the categories of fiction, creative nonfiction, poetry, and screenwriting.

The winners were Steven Schwartz (poetry and screenwriting), Rowan Smith and Mark Woodley (fiction), and Tina Monje (poetry). There was no winner in the category of creative nonfiction.

Find the full list of winners and honorable mentions here.

MFA Program Launches

In July 2013, the English Department successfully launched its Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing program, a low-residency graduate program offering concentrations in four writing genres: Creative Nonfiction, Fiction, Poetry, and Screenwriting. This year’s visiting writers/keynote speakers included: Sue Silverman, Benjamin Percy, Ed Bok Lee, and Christina Lazaridi. In summer 2014, a fifth concentration, in Playwriting, will be added.