Bing tracking

2013-14 Engman Prize Winners

The English Department has announced the winners of the 2013-14 Engman Prize, which honors undergraduate writing in the categories of fiction, creative nonfiction, poetry, and screenwriting.

The winners were Steven Schwartz (poetry and screenwriting), Rowan Smith and Mark Woodley (fiction), and Tina Monje (poetry). There was no winner in the category of creative nonfiction.


Winning Entries

  • “Foreward to Mandlebrot,” Rowan Smith
  • “Apocalypse Continued,” Mark Woodley

Honorable Mention

  • “Real History,” Mackenzie Dykstra
  • “Whatever Happened to Baby Harvey?” Kaylee Harles


Winning Entries

  • “RSVP,” Tina Monje
  • “Fishing for the Sound,” Steven Schwartz

Honorable Mention

  • “Psalm of the Silverback,” Steve Saari
  • “Gone Fishing,” Will Trembley
  • “To Become Spectral,” Rowan Smith
  • “Driven by a Pornographic Instinct to Drown,” Patrick Werle

Creative Nonfiction

No award given.


Winning Entry

  • Infected, Steven Schwartz

Honorable Mention

  • Clown, Nial Nelson-Hopkins
    • Note: A writer may win in several genres but will only receive a prize in one.