Bing tracking

Koryne Horbal Lecture

One of the WRC’s most prominent programs is the annual Koryne Horbal Lecture,  which features speakers of national prominence who address important issues that have an impact on women. Past speakers include Gloria Steinem, Robin Morgan, Jane Fonda, Winona LaDuke, Alicia Cabezudo, The Guerilla Girls, and Mark Anthony Neal. The lecture’s namesake is Koryne Horbal, who was a consultant to the WRC and who was awarded an honorary doctorate from Augsburg University in 2008 in recognition of her outstanding work as founder of the Minnesota DFL feminist caucus and her service as ambassador to the United Nations on the Status of Women. Koryne passed away in 2017. The Koryne Horbal Lecture is an official part of Augsburg’s annual convocation series.

Recent Horbal Lecture speakers have included the Sylvia Rivera Law Project, Nekima Levy-Armstrong, Janell Hobson, Gloria Steinem, and Mark Anthony Neal.

The Courageous Woman Awards and Koryne Horbal Lecture are made possible through generous philanthropic gifts to the Anne Pederson Women’s Resource Center. Donors are recognized at the annual Koryne Horbal Lecture. If you wish to make a gift in support of the Courageous Woman Awards or the Koryne Horbal Lecture, please contact Amy Alkire, Vice President of Advancement, or 612-330-1188.