Bing tracking

URGO STEM Agre Summer Research Symposium

Date: 6/7/2024

Inspiring students to think big about careers in science, providing the opportunity to network with professionals, and presenting current research projects.

Celebrating 17 Years

The creation of this event began when Nobel Prize Laureate Dr. Peter Agre ’70 saw an opportunity to connect STEM student researchers with prominent alumni. The name of the Symposium honors his father and former Augsburg chemistry professor and department chair (1959-1976), Dr. Courtland Agre.
In 2024, Augsburg will hold its 17th annual symposium. Over the years, we have been fortunate enough to welcome some of the most distinguished alumni and panelists to our campus.

Keynote Speaker

Journey Through the Nucleus: A Tale of Passion and Discovery.

Cynthia G. Jones, ’81, PhDCynthia G. Jones, ’81, PhD, is a nuclear engineering and health physics expert with nearly 40 years of experience in operational nuclear security, safety, and radiation protection. Before retiring in 2023, she served as the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission’s senior technical expert for nuclear and materials policy, programs, and operational issues associated with advanced reactor design, nuclear security, radiation protection, and international policy. In 2011, Dr. Jones became the first female NRC expert appointed to the U.S. National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements, and currently serves on the advisory board for Nuclear Engineering and Medical Physics graduate programs at the Georgia Institute of Technology.

2024 Panelists

Michael Alves ’17, PhD, Air Pollution Specialist, Office of Community Air Protection, California Air Resources Board (CARB)
Heather Greene ’05, MS, Sr. Principal System Engineer, Northrop Grumman – Defense Systems
Taneasha Muonio ’18, MSPAS, PA-C, DEI Clinical Consultant – Emergency Services, Urgent Care PA-C
Promise Okeke ’15, MBA, CEO of NovoPath


  • 12:00 – 12:30 p.m. Luncheon
  • 12:30 – 12:40 p.m. Words from Agres
  • 12:40 – 1:30 p.m. Keynote Address and Q&A
  • 1:30 – 1:50 p.m. Table Conversations
  • 1:50 – 2:00 p.m. BREAK
  • 2:00 – 3:15 p.m. STEM Career Panel
  • 3:15 – 4:15 p.m. Dessert Reception and Lab Tours

Event Organizers

Peter Agre ’70, PhD, Nobel Laureate, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor and Director of the Johns Hopkins Malaria Research Institute
Arlin Gyberg, PhD, Professor Emeritus
Lara Crombie, Program Coordinator, TRIO McNair Scholars Program
Dave Matz, PhD, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Psychology Professor


Contact Tina Maria Tavera