Bing tracking

Cheer on the Auggies in Math Jeopardy

mathjeopardyFor zero dollars, what is a fun time Friday night in Sateren Auditorium? The answer—the first-ever ACTC Math Jeopardy tournament, a friendly competition among Augsburg, University of St. Thomas, and Macalester. No computers will participate.

The idea for a Jeopardy tournament was the idea of mathematics professor Katy Micek, who wanted to create a tradition of friendly competition among the ACTC mathematics clubs. With funding support from the dean’s office, Augsburg Student Government, and the participating schools, the tournament became possible and will feature a gameboard and buzzer-and-light system, just as on TV.

Logistics for the jeopardy tournament including game rules, questions, participants were created primarily by Micek and department chair Matt Haines. The questions (or “answers”) have been created by the Augsburg math faculty and are a mixture of trivia, history, and calculation. Teams of four students will compete in two rounds of Jeopardy.

Unbounded, Augsburg’s Mathematics Club, has helped make the tournament a reality. Treasurer Austin Wagner and Brian Love designed t-shirts, which all participants will receive. Vice-president Jeremy Anthony put together the grant request that secured Student Government funding.

Augsburg’s team members are Austin Wagner, Nou Xiong, Emma Wineagar, Andrew Witte, Megan Sutherland, Carl Benson, Brian Love, and Jeremy Anthony. It’s reported that Professor Micek will be the Alex Trebek of ACTC Math Jeopardy.

The ACTC Math Jeopardy tournament begins at 7 p.m. Friday evening, April 1, in Sateren Auditorium. The Auggie team would love to have fans cheering them on to victory past St. Thomas and Macalester.


Share this: