Bing tracking

Augsburg alumni who shaped Minnesota politics

sabo_centerOn September 26, alumni Martin Sabo ’59 and Jim Pederson ’56 will lead a conversation among state legislators and others who played a critical role in reforming and transforming Minnesota’s political and governmental landscape during the 1970s. Sabo and Pederson will be joined by Lyall Schwarzkopf, former Republican state legislator and former chief of staff to Governor Arne Carlson, as well as former Democratic state legislators Ray Faricy and Bill Kelly. The panel will be moderated by Gene LaHammer, former Associated Press reporter.

The panel will discuss Minnesota legislative changes from 1971 to 1978 instituted in part by Governors Wendell Anderson and Rudy Perpich. Discussion will also focus on local and national events and how Republican legislators in the 1960s influenced the changes that would take place in Minnesota in the 70s. Continue reading “Augsburg alumni who shaped Minnesota politics”

Homecoming Convocation Award Recipients

awardeesHomecoming Convocation, held Friday, Oct. 12, at 10 a.m. in Hoversten Chapel, will honor our Distinguished Alumni, First Decade, and Spirit of Augsburg awardees along with our 50-year club members and faculty and staff emeriti.

The First Decade Award

Jasmina Besirevic-Regan ’97 came to Augsburg from Bosnia and majored in sociology. She continued at Yale University, earning both an MA and PhD. Since 2004, she has served as the dean of Trumbull College, one of Yale’s undergraduate residential colleges. Jasmina has published numerous papers and teaches an undergraduate seminar at Yale on genocide and ethnic conflict. Continue reading “Homecoming Convocation Award Recipients”